CÉLINE Louis-Ferdinand (1894-1961).

Lot 28
Go to lot
Estimation :
150000 - 200000 EUR
CÉLINE Louis-Ferdinand (1894-1961).
autograph manuscript, Maudits
Soupirs pour une autre fois, [1947]; about 905 pages in-fol. (about
34 x 21 cm) mounted on tabs and bound in 4 small in-fol. volumes, plus one volume of annotated folders, full sharkskin, black boards, spines and corners in four different colors for each volume (blue for the 1st, green for the 2nd, tan for the 3rd and red for the 4th); smooth spines with visible seams, nubuck endpapers in assorted colors, slipcases for each volume with titled mouse-gray box spine (J. de Gonet 2007).
Early version of the first two volumes of Féerie pour une autre fois, and unfinished draft of a sequel, all beautifully produced by bookbinder
Jean de Gonet.
Maudits soupirs pour une autre fois presents a preliminary version of Féerie pour une autre fois (published in 1952 by Gallimard, followed by the second part finally entitled Normance, published in 1954), plus a sequel that remained unfinished. The text, conceived in prison as early as August 1946 (with the title Au vent des maudits soupirs pour une autre fois) was elaborated in Denmark during 1947. Céline begins by evoking the memories of the last months spent in Montmartre, in his apartment on Girardon Street, before the exile; he receives a visit from Clémence Arlon, who has come to sign books; and he walks in his mind in this Montmartre that he loves and where he has so many friends, who parade here; he also walks in his memories: his childhood, the war....; then the bombing starts, and Céline has to think about preparing his departure; he takes refuge with friends in the cemetery... The text of Maudits soupirs pour une autre fois was published for the first time in 1985 by Gallimard, edited by Henri Godard, and reprinted in 2007 in the collection l'Imaginaire; a revised and completed transcription will be given in volume IV of the Romans in the Bibliothèque de la Pléiade, as versions
B and B' of Féerie pour une autre fois (p. 680- 858 and 963-1027)
The autograph manuscript is 905 pages long, with numerous superscripts and superscript numbers; it is abundantly corrected, there are nearly ten thousand corrections.
The details of the four volumes are given below.
I. 294 pages on 169 leaves, in black and blue ink. Continuous autograph numbering 1-139 bis. Nearly 300 additions.
II. 180 pages on 177 leaves (including 3 written r°-v°), including a draft letter entirely crossed out on the v° of the 1st page numbered 139 ter.
Autograph numbering from 139 ter to 1635.
35 additions.
III. 216 pages on 166 leaves in blue ink (including 1 p. of calculations on the v° of p. 16612).
Autograph numbering from 1636 to 238.
60 additions.
IV. 215 pages on 166 leaves in blue ink, including 7 drafts of letters and several leaves entirely crossed out. Autograph numbering from 239 to 400. 170 additions.
Volume "Working folders": 5 large cardboard folders with flaps (37 x 26,5 cm), two of which are orange and three bistre, numbered from 1 to 5 in pencil in the upper right corner. On the cover of folder 1: a strip of clear adhesive with the mention "1 to 132", another on the inside vertical flap with the mention "épuisés" and covered with numerous annotations, isolated words or locutions. On the cover of folder 2: numerous autograph inscriptions (imbrication, ramassis, crapules, charcutier, etc.), and in the lower corner a quotation from Socrates: "Celui qui us de termes impropres fait du mal aux âmes". On the cover of folder 3: in pencil in large characters "2nd juice in work", the words "chaloupée", "imbrication", "imbriquées" and the number "4" on a strip of adhesive. On the cover of folder 4: numerous autograph inscriptions, words and quotes, the inscription "stale" in red on a strip of adhesive in a cross to the top edge, and "Boulot I" in red on a strip of adhesive in the center of the cover. Numerous quotes on the back and on the flaps. On the cover of folder 5: numerous citations and on the inside vertical flap "Job 2" in red on an adhesive strip. - A brown cardboard folder with the inscription "1 to 67, 108, 132" in red pencil, and in black ink the mention "travail", the date "9 nov." and a quotation from Talleyrand: "Il faut se faire de la nécessité honneur"; on the reverse of the upper cover the address "A. Merçais 37 av. du Président Roosevelt Paris 8e". A grey-brown cardboard folder with flaps covered with numerous autograph inscriptions (words or groups of words.)
Let us quote the beginning of the text: "Here is Clémence Arlon. We are about the same age.
She does not come to see me often, nor her husband.
Her son Pierre accompanies her, a thin, pimply boy, a law student. He doesn't sit down, he stays leaning against the wall. He looks at his mother and then he observes me, without boldness, but without benevolence.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

CÉLINE Louis-Ferdinand (1894-1961).

Lot 28
Aller au lot
Estimation :
150000 - 200000 EUR
CÉLINE Louis-Ferdinand (1894-1961).
MANUSCRIT autographe, Maudits
Soupirs pour une autre fois, [1947] ; environ 905 pages in-fol. (environ
34 x 21 cm) montées sur onglets et reliées en 4 volumes petit in-fol., plus un volume de chemises annotées, pleine peau de requin, plats noirs, dos et coins de quatre teintes différentes pour chaque volume (bleu pour le 1er, vert pour le 2e, havane pour le 3e et rouge pour le 4e) ; dos lisses à coutures apparentes, ; gardes en nubuck de teintes assorties, emboîtages pour chaque volume à dos de box gris-souris titré (J. de Gonet 2007).
Version primitive des deux premiers volumes de Féerie pour une autre fois, et projet inachevé d'une suite, le tout magnifiquement établi par le relieur
Jean de Gonet.
Maudits soupirs pour une autre fois présente une version préliminaire de Féerie pour une autre fois (publiée en 1952 chez Gallimard, suivie de la seconde partie finalement intitulée Normance, publiée en 1954), plus une suite restée inachevée. Le texte, conçu en prison dès août 1946 (avec le titre un moment envisagé d'Au vent des maudits soupirs pour une autre fois) a été élaboré au Danemark dans le courant de l'année 1947. Céline commence par évoquer les souvenirs des derniers mois passés à Montmartre, dans son appartement de la rue Girardon, avant l'exil ; il reçoit la visite de Clémence Arlon, venue faire dédicacer des livres ; et il se promène par la pensée dans ce Montmartre qu'il aime et où il a tant d'amis, qui défilent ici ; il se promène aussi dans ses souvenirs : son enfance, la guerre... ; puis le bombardement commence, et Céline doit songer à préparer son départ ; il se réfugie avec des amis dans le cimetière... Le texte de Maudits soupirs pour une autre fois a été publié pour la première fois en 1985 chez Gallimard par les soins d'Henri Godard, texte repris en 2007 dans la collection l'Imaginaire ; une transcription revue et complétée en sera donnée au tome IV des Romans dans La Bibliothèque de la Pléiade, comme versions
B et B' de Féerie pour une autre fois (p. 680- 858 et 963-1027).
Le manuscrit autographe compte 905 pages, avec de nombreux bis et numéros en exposant ; il est abondamment corrigé, on compte près de dix mille corrections.
On trouvera ci-dessous le détail des quatre volumes.
I. 294 pages sur 169 feuillets, aux encres noire et bleue. Numérotation autographe continue 1-139 bis. Près de 300 ajouts.
II. 180 pages sur 177 feuillets. (dont 3 écrits r°-v°), dont un brouillon de lettre entièrement biffé au v° de la 1ère page numérotée 139 ter.
Numérotation autographe de 139 ter à 1635.
35 ajouts.
III. 216 pages sur 166 feuillets à l'encre bleue (dont 1 p. de calculs au v° de la p. 16612).
Numérotation autographe de 1636 à 238.
60 ajouts.
IV. 215 pages sur 166 feuillets à l'encre bleue, dont 7 brouillons de lettres et plusieurs feuillets entièrement biffés. Numérotation autographe de 239 à 400. 170 ajouts.
Volume «Chemises de travail» : 5 grandes chemises cartonnées à rabats (37 x 26,5 cm) dont deux de couleur orange et trois de couleur bistre, numérotées de 1 à 5 au crayon dans le coin supérieur droit. Sur la couverture de la chemise 1 : une bande d'adhésif clair avec la mention «1 à 132», une autre sur le rabat vertical intérieur avec la mention «épuisés» et recouvertes de très nombreuses annotations, mots isolés ou locutions. Sur la couverture de la chemise 2 : nombreuses inscriptions autographes (imbrication, ramassis, crapules, charcutier, etc.), et dans le coin inférieur une citation de Socrate : «Celui qui use de termes impropres fait du mal aux âmes». Sur la couverture de la chemise 3 : à la mine de plomb en gros caractères «2e jus en travail», les mots «chaloupée», «imbrication», «imbriquées» et le chiffre «4» sur une bande d'adhésif. Sur la couverture de la chemise 4 : nombreuses inscriptions autographes, mots et citations, l'inscription «éventré» en rouge sur une bande d'adhésif en croix jusqu'au bord supérieur, et «Boulot I» en rouge sur une bande adhésive au centre de la couverture. Nombreuses citations au verso et sur les rabats. Sur la couverture de la chemise 5 : nombreuses citations et sur le rabat vertical intérieur «boulot 2» en rouge sur une bande adhésive. - Une chemise cartonnée brune avec au crayon rouge l'inscription «1 à 67, 108, 132», et à l'encre noire la mention «travail», la date «9 nov.» et une citation de Talleyrand : «Il faut se faire de la nécessité honneur» ; au revers du plat sup. l'adresse«A. Merçais 37 av. du Président Roosevelt Paris 8e». -Une chemise cartonnée gris brun à rabats recouverte de nombreuses inscriptions autographes (mots ou groupes de mots.)
Citons le début du texte : «Voici Clémence Arlon. Nous avons le même âge, à peu près.
Elle ne vient pas me voir souvent, ni son mari.
Son fils Pierre l'accompagne mince garçon boutonneux, étudiant en droit. Il ne s'asseoit pas, il reste adossé au mur. Il regarde sa mère et puis il m'observe, sans hardiesse, mais sans bienveill
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue