CHAR René (1907-1988).

Lot 34
Go to lot
Estimation :
4000 - 5000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 9 750EUR
CHAR René (1907-1988).
MANUSCRIT autograph signed "René Char", and corrected PROOFS, La Conjuration, 1946; in-4 mustard box janseniste, suede lining and endpapers of same color, spine titled in gold, gilt edges on witnesses; titled folder with flaps, lined slipcase (P.L. Martin, 1963)
La Conjuration, one of the two ballet librettos conceived by René Char, was created in April 1947 at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, by Nathalie
Philippart, Youli Algaroff, Leslie Caron and Françoise Adret, who choreographed it, to music by Jacques Porte. The stage curtain was designed by Georges Braque. The libretto was published in No. 22 (December 1946) of the magazine l'Arche, and in the original edition in 1947 by Maeght. The ballet was not well received and the performances quickly stopped.
Char wanted to give an edition illustrated by Matisse, then by Braque who made the stage curtain, but none of them saw the light of day.
The argument of this ballet includes a Prologue and five stanzas. It features the Man with the Mirror Skin, the Mirror Man and a young girl.
The autograph manuscript is carefully written, in black ink, on the front of 17 sheets of wove paper. There are a few erasures and corrections. The title page is signed and dated 1946. The manuscript is preceded by a cover on strong paper, with the title calligraphed in Indian ink. Each of the six parts has its own title page.
The argument of the ballet is preceded by a page of presentation, to be composed in italics: "There are days when the poet dreams to give a less furtive sense to his acts, when he addresses, without carelessness, to his pride to obtain his classification. In spite of a whole health and certain chances, the poet remains inferior or foreign to his wish.
Vigor of those who subjugate the fortune of the air and inject it to their enigma! Before him, allusive dunes multiply their derision.
Not the least alphabet for his love.
How could dance not prevail as a remedy or simply as a teller of the unconscious and of tragedy?"
Following the manuscript, the corrected proofs (5 pages in-8 window-mounted in the format of the manuscript) composed for L'Arche, with autograph corrections, are bound.
The booklet of La Conjuration (printed by Tournon, it was attached to the program), bifeuillet in-4 (2 ex.).
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

CHAR René (1907-1988).

Lot 34
Aller au lot
Estimation :
4000 - 5000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 9 750EUR
CHAR René (1907-1988).
MANUSCRIT autographe signé «René Char», et ÉPREUVES corrigées, La Conjuration, 1946 ; in-4 box janséniste moutarde, doublures et gardes de daim de même couleur, dos titré or, tranches dorées sur témoins ; chemise titrée à rabats, étui bordé (P.L. Martin, 1963).
La Conjuration, un des deux livrets de ballet conçus par René Char, fut créée en avril 1947 au théâtre des Champs-Élysées, par Nathalie
Philippart, Youli Algaroff, Leslie Caron et Françoise Adret, qui réalisa la chorégraphie, sur une musique de Jacques Porte. Le rideau de scène fut dessiné par Georges Braque. Le livret a paru dans le n° 22 (décembre 1946) de la revue l'Arche, et en édition originale en 1947 chez Maeght. Le ballet fut mal accueilli et les représentations cessèrent rapidement.
Char voulait en donner une édition illustrée par Matisse, puis par Braque qui réalisa le rideau de scène ; aucune ne vit le jour.
L'argument de ce ballet comprend un Prologue et cinq strophes. Il met notamment en scène l'Homme à la peau de miroir, l'Homme-miroir et une jeune fille.
Le manuscrit autographe est soigneusement écrit, à l'encre noire, au recto de 17 feuillets de papier vélin. On relève quelques ratures et corrections. La page de titre est signée et datée 1946. Le manuscrit est précédé d'une couverture sur papier fort, avec le titre calligraphié à l'encre de Chine. Chacune des six parties possède sa page de titre.
L'argument du ballet est précédé d'une page de présentation, à composer en italiques : «Il est des jours où le poète rêve de donner un sens moins furtif à ses actes, où il s'adresse, sans étourderie, à son orgueil pour obtenir son classement. En dépit d'une santé entière et de chances certaines, le poète reste inférieur ou étranger à son voeu.
Vigueur de ceux qui subjuguent la fortune de l'air et l'injectent à leur énigme ! Devant lui, des dunes allusives multiplient leur dérision.
Pas le moindre alphabet pour son amour.
Comment la danse ne prévaudrait-elle pas alors comme remède ou simplement comme diseuse de l'inconscient et de la tragédie ?»
À la suite du manuscrit, on a relié les épreuves corrigées (5 pages in-8 montées à fenêtre au format du manuscrit) composées pour L'Arche, avec des corrections autographes.
On joint le livret de La Conjuration (imprimerie Tournon, il était joint au programme), bifeuillet in-4 (2 ex.).
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue