CÉLINE Louis-Ferdinand (1894-1961).

Lot 30
Go to lot
Estimation :
2500 - 3000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 2 372EUR
CÉLINE Louis-Ferdinand (1894-1961).
Autograph manuscript for D'un château l'autre (1957); 47 pages in-4
(27 x 21 cm).
Important fragment of a first version of D'un château l'autre (novel published by
Gallimard in 1957).
The manuscript is written in blue ballpoint pen on the front of Navarre watermarked sheets. The number of the sequences is written in red pen. We have here sequences 5 and 6 (corresponding to pages 50-61 of volume III of the Pléiade edition), paginated from 82 to 111 and 112 to 129 (pages 83 and 120 are missing), plus the first page (199) of sequence 4 of another version (Pléiade p. 45).
This manuscript is abundantly corrected, with very many lines crossed out, resumptions and multiple erasures with modifications. The text is very different from the final version, with many unpublished passages.
Céline, from his house in Meudon, laments his miserable situation, enraged about France and the French, which he observes with a critical eye. The view from his pavilion brings back memories from the beginning of the century; he talks about his patient Mme Niçois...
Let us quote page 84 (to be compared with the text on p. 51 of the Pléiade), where Céline explains that he has not been forgiven the Voyage; without it, "the vanities would have remained silent... ticklishness! I won, I won everything! the Nobel and the rest! at the present time when I speak to you the Billy would make me grip the Mauriac kif! and all others! Tartre would not know where to put his tongue! I would stick it in my asshole, his tongue! and he would be in heaven! positively recreated! and then what would they put in the Figaro! and in the Huma! I beg your pardon! forliches on forliches! my books would be snatched up in all the haberdashers!... I would make my 500 bags per month only from Voyagsky! my crime is to have dared to make noise, to have wounded the vanities, born in Courbevoie... one does not pass anything, of Courbevoie! has one the idea!"....
5 pages for Nord of the sequence 8, pages 109-113 (p.329-330 of the Pléiade) are joined.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

CÉLINE Louis-Ferdinand (1894-1961).

Lot 30
Aller au lot
Estimation :
2500 - 3000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 2 372EUR
CÉLINE Louis-Ferdinand (1894-1961).
MANUSCRIT autographe pour D'un château l'autre (1957) ; 47 pages in-4
(27 x 21 cm).
Important fragment d'une première version de D'un château l'autre (roman publié chez
Gallimard en 1957).
Le manuscrit est rédigé au stylo-bille bleu au recto de feuillets filigranés Navarre. Le numéro des séquences est porté au stylo rouge. Nous avons ici les séquences 5 et 6 (correspondant aux pages 50-61 du tome III de l'édition de la Pléiade), paginées de 82 à 111 et 112 à 129 (manquent les pages 83 et 120), plus la première page (199) de la séquence 4 d'une autre version (Pléiade p. 45).
Ce manuscrit est abondamment corrigé, avec de très nombreuses lignes biffées, des reprises et de multiples ratures avec modifications. Le texte est très différent de la version finale et présente de nombreux passages inédits.
Céline, depuis sa maison de Meudon, se lamente sur sa situation miséreuse, enrage sur la France et les Français qu'il observe d'un oeil critique. La vue qu'il a depuis son pavillon fait naître des souvenirs datant du début du siècle ; il parle de sa patiente Mme Niçois...
Citons la page 84 (à comparer avec le texte de la p. 51 de la Pléiade), où Céline explique qu'on ne lui a pas pardonné le Voyage ; sans lui, «les vanités se seraient tenues coites... des chatouillesses ! Je gagnais, je gagnais tout ! le Nobel et le reste ! à l'heure actuelle où je vous parle le Billy me ferait des poignes le Mauriac kif ! et tous autres ! Tartre saurait plus où mettre la langue ! je me la serrerais dans le trou du cul sa langue ! et qu'il s'en trouverait aux anges ! positivement recréé !et alors qu'est-ce qu'ils metteraient dans le Figaro ! et dans l'Huma ! je vous demande pardon ! pourliches sur pourliches ! mes livres on se les arracherait dans toutes les merceries !... Je ferais mes 500 sacs par mois rien que du Voyagsky ! mon crime c'est d'avoir osé faire du bruit, d'avoir blessé les vanités, né à Courbevoie... on ne passe rien, de Courbevoie ! a-t-on l'idée !»....
On joint 5 pages pour Nord de la séquence 8, pages 109-113 (p.329-330 de la Pléiade).
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue