Yves TANGUY (1900-1955)

Lot 47
Got to lot
Estimation :
250000 - 350000 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 720 000EUR
Yves TANGUY (1900-1955)


Elle viendra, 1950.


Oil on canvas.


Titled, dated and handwritten mentions on the back.


46 x 35.5 cm.


Oil on canvas, titled and dated on the back. 18.1 x 13.9 in.


Provenance:


Collection Marie-Louise and Jehan Mayoux.


Then by descent to the present owner.


Bibliography:


Pierre Matisse, Yves Tanguy, Un Recueil de ses œuvres, New York, Pierre Matisse, 1963, reproduced page 177 n°413.


Of Breton origin, son of a military man, nothing predestines Yves Tanguy to the career we know him. Through chance encounters, he was first introduced to painting by Henri Matisse's son, Pierre, a future New York gallery owner, whom he met at the Montaigne high school. Then during his military service in Lunéville in 1920, he became friends with Jacques Prévert.


But it was really in 1923 that his destiny took shape, captivated by a painting by Giorgio de Chirico: "The Brain of the Child", then exhibited in the window of the Paul Guillaume gallery. He will be a painter.


Entirely self-taught, his first works are figurative (he will destroy a lot of them) but very soon he develops a very personal repertoire and style, perhaps first influenced by Spanish painters, including Miro. His vocabulary, quite quickly fixed, will remain permanent throughout his work. His aestheticism will be constant, timeless, populated with enigmatic forms both "beings-objects" or machines. He himself will agree that his painting is inexplicable.


Yves Tanguy says: "Around 1924, I came across the first issue of the Surrealist Revolution and it interested me a lot. Not so much the works that were reproduced in it but the general spirit of the content". The link with the surrealists was soon to be forged.


During a dinner in 1925 at the Café Cosmos, he became friends with Robert Desnos and soon met Benjamin Péret and Aragon. His greatest friend will be André Breton, his guide and mentor, replacing his father who died very early.


From 1926, one of his works is reproduced in The Surrealist Revolution and his paintings exhibited at the Surrealist Gallery. In 1927 a personal exhibition is dedicated to him. He took part in all the demonstrations of the movement, in the surrealist games and illustrated numerous texts. In spite of everything, his situation remains difficult and he lives with his wife Jeannette in a very modest hotel.


After a trip to North Africa in 1930 and 1931, which is not very well documented, Tanguy paints a series of flat landscapes that occupy a special place. Then he returns to a new organization of his compositions. The forms no longer proliferate but are arranged in alignment in the foreground.


The unfailing friendship between Yves Tanguy and the Mayoux couple began in 1933. Jehan Mayoux makes contact that year with André Breton and Paul Eluard. He takes part in the activities of the surrealists' group, collaborates in magazines and signs the collective texts. In 1935, Tanguy spends his summer holidays with Marie-Louise and Jehan Mayoux.


Declared unfit for mobilization he leaves in 1940 for New York, officially to exhibit at the Pierre Matisse Gallery, unofficially to join the painter Kay Sage whom he met in Paris and who influenced the organization of this exhibition. He married her in 1940. The couple moved to Connecticut. Pierre Matisse provides him with a relative material security thanks to a monthly annuity in addition to the sales. Tanguy's painting is no more successful in the United States than in France. It is far too interior to reach a wide audience.


Yves Tanguy's inner world.


The aim of surrealist painting is not to fix in trompe l'oeil images of dreams, but to express through pictorial means "the functioning of thought" (according to André Breton), which means the unconscious functioning of thought.


Tanguy works the subject no less than his shadow, without really knowing where the light comes from. The shadow underlines the palpable reality of the object, but it is impalpable by nature. It attaches itself to the forms and not to the background, refusing the sky-earth cut. His landscapes do not offer a horizon line. Aerial space and terrestrial space merge. There is only Tanguy's space and within it germinate creatures, "object beings" as Breton will call them. They require all the care of their creator. Tanguy brushes them with delicate attention and great precision. They evoke a mineral world, or petrifications, but always escape all resemblance. Tanguy develops his inner world fed by his childhood memories in Brittany. But it is well and truly the end of identifiable organic survivals, the subtle movement of the beginnings gives way to an immobility that invades the painter's paintings.


The "object beings" grow in number, importance and complexity. Tanguy always works in the same way

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Yves TANGUY (1900-1955)

Lot 47
Aller au lot
Estimation :
250000 - 350000 EUR
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 720 000EUR
Yves TANGUY (1900-1955)


Elle viendra, 1950.


Huile sur toile.


Titrée, datée et mentions manuscrites au revers.


46 x 35,5 cm.


Oil on canvas, titled and dated on the back. 18,1 x 13,9 in.


Provenance :


Collection Marie-Louise et Jehan Mayoux.


Puis par descendance au propriétaire actuel.


Bibliographie :


Pierre Matisse, Yves Tanguy, Un Recueil de ses oeuvres, New York, Pierre Matisse, 1963, reproduit page 177 n°413.


D'origine bretonne, fils de militaire, rien ne prédestine Yves Tanguy à la carrière que nous lui connaissons. Au hasard des rencontres, il est d'abord sensibilisé à la peinture par le fils d'Henri Matisse, Pierre, futur galeriste New-yorkais, qu'il côtoie au lycée Montaigne. Puis lors de son service militaire à Lunéville en 1920, il se lie d'amitié avec Jacques Prévert.


Mais c'est véritablement en 1923 que son destin se dessine, captivé par une peinture de Giorgio de Chirico : «Le Cerveau de l'enfant», alors exposée en vitrine de la galerie Paul Guillaume. Il sera peintre.


Entièrement autodidacte, ses premières oeuvres sont figuratives (il en détruira beaucoup) mais très vite il met au point un répertoire et un style très personnel peut-être d'abord influencé par les peintres espagnols dont Miro. Son vocabulaire, assez vite fixé, restera permanent tout au long de son oeuvre. Son esthétisme sera constant, intemporel, peuplé de formes énigmatiques à la fois «êtres-objets» ou machines. Lui-même conviendra que sa peinture est inexplicable.


Yves Tanguy raconte : «Aux alentours de 1924, je suis tombé sur le premier numéro de la Révolution surréaliste et cela m'a beaucoup intéressé. Pas tellement les oeuvres qui y étaient reproduites mais l'esprit général du contenu». Le lien avec les surréalistes va vite se tisser.


Lors d'un dîner en 1925 au Café Cosmos, il se lie avec Robert Desnos, très vite il rencontre Benjamin Péret et Aragon. Son plus grand ami sera André Breton, son guide et mentor, remplaçant son père très tôt disparu.


Dès 1926, une de ses oeuvres est reproduite dans La Révolution Surréaliste et ses peintures exposées à la Galerie surréaliste. En 1927 une exposition personnelle lui est consacrée. Il participe à toutes les manifestations du mouvement, aux jeux surréalistes et illustre de nombreux textes. Malgré tout, sa situation reste difficile et il vit avec sa femme Jeannette dans un hôtel très modeste.


Après un voyage en Afrique du Nord en 1930 et 1931, assez peu documenté, Tanguy peint une série de paysages plateaux occupant une place à part. Puis il revient à une nouvelle organisation de ses compositions. Les formes ne prolifèrent plus mais sont disposées en alignement au premier plan.


L'indéfectible amitié entre Yves Tanguy et le couple Mayoux débute en 1933. Jehan Mayoux prend contact cette année-là avec André Breton et Paul Eluard. Il participe aux activités du groupe des surréalistes, collabore aux revues et signe les textes collectifs. En 1935, Tanguy passe ses vacances d'été avec Marie-Louise et Jehan Mayoux.


Déclaré inapte pour la mobilisation il part en 1940 pour New-York, officiellement afin d'exposer à la Galerie Pierre Matisse, officieusement pour rejoindre la peintre Kay Sage qu'il a rencontrée à Paris et qui a influé pour l'organisation de cette exposition. Il l'épouse en 1940. Le couple s'installe dans le Connecticut. Pierre Matisse lui assure une relative sécurité matérielle grâce à une rente mensuelle en sus des ventes. La peinture de Tanguy ne rencontre pas plus de succès aux Etats-Unis qu'en France. Elle est bien trop intérieure pour parvenir à toucher un large public.


Le monde intérieur d'Yves Tanguy.


Le but de la peinture surréaliste n'est pas de fixer en trompe l'oeil les images du rêve, mais d'exprimer par les moyens picturaux «le fonctionnement de la pensée» (d'après André Breton), ce qui veut dire le fonctionnement inconscient de la pensée.


Tanguy ne travaille pas moins le sujet que son ombre, sans que l'on sache vraiment d‘où vient la lumière. L'ombre souligne la réalité palpable de l'objet, mais elle est impalpable par nature. Il s'attache aux formes et non au fond refusant la coupure ciel-terre. Ses paysages n'offrent pas de ligne d'horizon. Espace aérien et espace terrestre se confondent. Il n'y a que l'espace de Tanguy et au sein de celui-ci germent des créatures, des «êtres objets» comme les appellera Breton. Ces derniers requièrent tous les soins de leur créateur. Tanguy les brosse avec une délicate attention et une grande précision. Ils évoquent un monde minéral, ou des pétrifications, mais échappent toujours à toutes ressemblances. Tanguy développe son monde intérieur alimenté par ses souvenirs d'enfance en Bretagne. Mais

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue