Leopold GOTTLIEB (1879-1933)

Lot 5
Aller au lot
Estimation :
25000 - 35000 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 45 000EUR

Leopold GOTTLIEB (1879-1933)


Portrait of Adolphe Basler.


Oil on canvas.


Signed upper left.


Located lower right.


Has an inscription on the back "Portrait of Mr Adolphe Basler".


111 x 111 cm.


Petits manques, restaurations et repeints.


Oil on canvas, signed lower right. 43.7 x 43.7 in.


Provenance:


French private collection.


Adolphe Basler (1878-1849):


Author, collector, art historian, critic and gallery owner, Basler belonged to the artistic milieu of Montparnasse at the beginning of the 20th century. Coming from a family of rabbis from Krakow, he arrived in Paris in 1898 and frequented the Parisian intellectual and literary milieu (Paul Fort and André Salmon) and painters (Modigliani and Pascin). He was introduced there by the Polish poet Mécislas Golberg. He soon opened a gallery where he exhibited Kisling among the first. In the 20's he directed in the Sèvres Gallery where Utrillo, Dufy and Coubine were exhibited. His writings on art are numerous (monographs on contemporary artists, African arts). He participates in aesthetic debates in magazines (Revue Blanche, Mercure de France and Die Aktion, Der Cicerone) and is recognized as an eminent art critic. His friendships with artists, his intellectual influence and his impressive physique have made him a model for many painters: Kisling (who made him a cubist portrait in 1914), Modigliani, Czobel and Grünewald.


The art of Léopold Gottlieb.


Arrived in France in 1899, he was one of the Poles from Montparnasse alongside the painters Hayden, Zak, Mela Muter and the sculptors Ostrowski and Nadelman. His art is marked by his experiences linked to the Avant-Garde (Group of Five from Krakow, the Viennese Secession in which he participated, Fauvism and Cubism at the Salon d'Automne in Paris where he exhibited between 1904 and 1934).


Our portrait of Basler, certainly painted around 1920, reflects these mixed influences. The seated figure possesses a constructive solidity to be matched with the assured psychology of the intellectual. The strong and discontinuous drawing comes from the German expressionists, while the bright green, yellow and brick-red colours are the result of a fauvism that is here somewhat muted.

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

Leopold GOTTLIEB (1879-1933)

Lot 5
Aller au lot
Estimation :
25000 - 35000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 55 800EUR

Leopold GOTTLIEB (1879-1933)


Portrait d'Adolphe Basler (1876-1951).


Huile sur toile.


Signée en haut à gauche.


Située en bas à droite.


Porte une inscription au dos «Portrait de Mr Adolphe Basler».


111 x 111 cm.


Petits manques, restaurations et repeints.


Oil on canvas, signed lower right. 43,7 x 43,7 in.


Provenance :


Collection particulière française.


Adolphe Basler (1878-1849) :


Auteur, collectionneur, historien de l'art, critique et galeriste, Basler appartient au milieu artistique de Montparnasse au début du XXe siècle. Issu d'une famille de rabbins de Cracovie, il arrive à Paris en 1898 et fréquente le milieu intellectuel et littéraire parisien (Paul Fort et André Salmon) et les peintres (Modigliani et Pascin). Il y a été introduit par le poète polonais Mécislas Golberg. Il ouvre bientôt une galerie où il expose Kisling parmi les premiers. Il dirige dans les années 20 la Galerie de Sèvres où sont présentés Utrillo, Dufy et Coubine. Ses écrits sur l'art sont nombreux (monographies d'artistes contemporains, arts africains). Il participe aux débats esthétiques dans les revues (Revue Blanche, Mercure de France et Die Aktion, Der Cicerone) et est reconnu comme un critique d'art éminent. Ses amitiés avec les artistes, son influence intellectuelle, son physique impressionnant l'ont désigné comme modèle pour de nombreux peintres : Kisling (fera de lui un portrait cubiste en 1914), Modigliani, Czobel et Grünewald.


L'art de Léopold Gottlieb.


Arrivé en France en 1899, il fait partie des polonais de Montparnasse aux côtés des peintres Hayden, Zak, Mela Muter et des sculpteurs Ostrowski et Nadelman. Son art est marqué par ses expériences liées à l'Avant-garde (groupe des Cinq de Cracovie, Sécession viennoise à laquelle il a participé, fauvisme et cubisme du Salon d'automne de Paris où il a exposé entre 1904 et 1934).


Notre portrait de Basler, peint certainement autour de 1920, reflète ces influences mêlées. Le personnage assis possède une solidité constructive à mettre en correspondance avec la psychologie assurée de l'intellectuel. Le dessin appuyé et discontinu vient des expressionnistes allemands tandis que les vifs coloris vert, jaune et rouge-brique sont issus d'un fauvisme ici un peu assourdi.

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue