RENOIR Pierre-Auguste (1841-1919)

Lot 342
Go to lot
Estimation :
10000 - 12000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 12 740EUR
RENOIR Pierre-Auguste (1841-1919)
Set of five signed autograph letters addressed to Claude MONET * S.l., October 21, 1905, 1 page in-12 in ink. Renoir does the portrait of Monet. "I'm so badly on the train at the moment that I don't dare tell you to come for this sketch. Nevertheless, as I am going to leave for six months, I would be very happy to see you before then if you can do it without disturbing you too much... "La Chapelle St Briac (Ille et Vilaine) [August 1886], 2 pages in-8 in ink. Beautiful letter on his stay in Brittany. He left Paris abruptly, having quickly seen Mirbeau and Durand-Ruel: "I knew, however, that he had sold me various things, including the portrait of Mrs. Clapisson, a naked woman squatting, and flowers, I believe. [...] here I am in a nice corner. Everything is small there, small bays in masses with pretty sandy beaches, small insignificant rocks, but the sea is superb, it seems to me that I am looking at a relief map in the Musée de la Marine. In short, it's pretty, but nothing grandiose. However I think it is not a waste of time to come and see. I have a house for 2 months, with 5 or 6 bedrooms ". He encourages Monet to come: "I haven't seen much yet. I have boats on my doorstep and I promise myself charming walks in these thousand little bays. It is very curious. [...] my impression is a nice one. Dinard very pretty, pretty fishing boats on a green background. The sea looks more like the Mediterranean than the English Channel. It's clean and very blue when the weather is good. He gives his address: " Maison Perrette. La chapelle St Briac"; * S.d., 2 pages and a half on letterhead of the "Grand Hôtel Gare Saint Lazare". "I must always write to you for this brandy you will receive 30 litres at 2.50. I believe that is all that remains... I am delighted that this exhibition has made you happy and especially your wife. I only wanted to put up a few canvases for 3 or 4 days, to find out where I was [...]"; * S.l., [September 5, 1879],
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue